PTHS Scholarship Foundation calls for higher-ed applicants


Graduates of Port Townsend High School who have completed one year or more in an undergraduate, tech or certificated program, and have a GPA of 3.0 or higher, are invited to apply for continuing education scholarships, sponsored by the Port Townsend High School Scholarship Foundation.

Information on scholarships offered by the PTHS Scholarship Foundation is available online at, by searching for “Port Townsend High School” on the site, and applications are due by Oct. 31.

PTHS Scholarship Foundation Co-President Jeanie Glaspell noted the required application components include an official transcript of all post-high school coursework, a self-evaluation of the student's academic progress to date, a financial plan and two letters of recommendation, as outlined on

Glaspell expects up to ten scholarships will be awarded, ranging between $1,000 to $3,000 each, and applicants are due to be notified if they've won by Nov. 21.

Glaspell pointed out the PTHS Scholarship Foundation is independent of the Port Townsend School District, and has been granting scholarships since its inception in 1974, awarding more than $600,000 to more than 700 recipients, including both graduating seniors and students continuing their undergraduate studies or vocational training.

“It has a 45-year history of supporting students from Port Townsend,” Glaspell said, adding PTHS seniors were awarded more than $40,000 in Foundation scholarships, and in memorial scholarships administered by the Foundation, in the spring of this year alone.

This past January saw the PTHS Scholarship Foundation announcing that 11 Port Townsend High School graduates had received scholarships in December of 2017 for their second, third or fourth years of study.

A total of $30,000 was awarded in December to Ben Rolland at Macalester College, Madison Braden and Camille Ottaway at Western Washington University, Addison Richert at the University of Nevada in Reno, Ryan Clarke at the University of Portland, Clarice Forbes at the University of Washington, Sara Fullerton at Willamette University, Megan Walsh at Endicott College, Riley Fukano at Cornell University, Stevie Riepe at Clark College, and Miguel Salguero at California Polytechnic State University.

“The foundation continues to thrive, thanks to Port Townsend alumni and citizens,” Glaspell said. “A named scholarship, to honor a loved one, is possible for the period of one year, or on a continuing basis.”

Glaspell advised questions about the application process to be sent by text to 360-643-1077, and encouraged those interested in supporting this cause to contact her, either via the same phone number or by email at

Jennifer James-Wilson, the Director District 2 member of the Port Townsend School Board, has chaired the PTHS Scholarship Foundation's Selection Committee, and previously told The Leader she was pleased the Foundation's scholarships have allowed Port Townsend High School graduates to pursue “interesting and individualized pathways in higher education in a variety of ways.”


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment