R2AK 2019

Port Ludlow skipper wins R2AK

Team Angry Beaver wins in a monohull


Skippered by Matt Pistay of Port Ludlow, Team Angry Beaver hit Ketchikan about 3:56 Pacific Time June 10, winning the 2019 Race to Alaska in a monohull Schock 40.

Crewing the Skiff Sailing Foundation boat were Gavin Bracket, Brent Campbell, Alan Johnson, Mats Elf and Simon Miles.

The final day of the race was a bit of a dogfight between Team Angry Beaver and Team Pear Shaped Racing, a Victoria, BC and Sausalito, California-based team racing in a Chris Cochrane 10.6m custom trimaran.

Guy Rittger, Tom Kassberg and Duncan Gladman fought Angry Beaver to the end, with last year's winner, Team Sail Like a Girl in contention, along with others.


1 comment on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Justin Hale

Shouldn't that be " Port Ludlow CREW wins R2AK"?

Thursday, June 13, 2019